Progress and Motivation for Weight loss

I feel good today. I had legs (Kris Gethin 12 week trainer), and man did I give it my best. This entire week I have had a lot of motivation, and most of it came from within. Of course, this doesn’t mean I didn’t watch endless YouTube videos to get motivated. I want to talk about stagnancy in weight loss today.

When you stop binge eating and start working out, chances are you are going to start losing weight real quick. The good thing is that with the help of the web, you don’t need a gym anymore. You could get an entire fitness plan for free from the internet. No! Don’t go out there and pirate premium workouts. I’m talking about other free workouts. Here are a few channels:

https://www.youtube.com/user/yaboymillhoy

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4GJndVHEhdmqLFBHOCi97A

https://www.youtube.com/user/FitnessBlender

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMCMpl_T99aDh7OtKklXcfA

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCs_DvR0g9o7wDgmY3fzbhMw

If you mail me, I could send you another 10 sources (for free). Fitness has gone from being this mystery secret that common people thought only existed with the bodybuilders and athletes, to something that is so common that a person following it for about two weeks can have most of the info that a professional would. What a great time to be alive.

When it comes to binge eating again, self control is key. I could tell you  a million tricks (nothing new that a simple Google search won’t reveal) but it is ultimately up to the you because when the binge drive hits you, you are all by yourself. No one is going to come at that specific moment and tell you to stop. You could explain to your friends and family a million times that you’re dieting or trying to control your binge, but chances are they won’t really know what you’re talking about. At that particular moment, you will be your greatest strength and your biggest weakness. All you have to do is remember why you started, and go back to that one moment, that lowest point, that ultimate failure, that made you take up fitness.

I’ll just tell you a little story of what my lowest point was. If you have read the prologue (link) you might have come across the fact that I had once done high intensity interval training for 2 months straight and lost a lot of weight, slimmed down and even started building muscle. Before this particular incident, I was a binge eater for about 3 years straight. There was nothing that came between me and my binge, and my enforcers made sure of that. So what was it that made me change my ways?

One bad day. That’s all it took.

It was the day of my graduation and I had to go to my college. I weighed 92kgs back then and was a size XXL. I went to college early, had a large pizza before I could go to the ceremony and then made my way there. It was a collective graduation ceremony, with people from different streams coming together. Arts, Natural Sciences, Applied Sciences, etc. We had our pictures taken, degrees collected and caps thrown, and after everything was said and done we had a prize ceremony for all the achievers. I was amongst them becuase I had scored really well. I felt like a winner.

One by one people’s names were called out. Everyone went on stage, took their prizes, posed for pictures, and went out the other way. It was my turn. I went on stage, shook hands with the principal and posed for pictures. I couldn’t hear a single clap in the entire auditorium. They might as well just ahve booed me off the stage. I felt a little bad, but not so much. I went off stage. And then this strange thing happened. This other student, my namesake was called on. He had pretty much achieved the same thing as me, and when he went on stage the crowd hollered and cheered. Everyone loved him. He was quite the popular kid.

Suddenly I didn’t feel like all that much of a winner.

That evening I went home and was eating my way through a bag of chips when suddenly I heard the beeping of my phone. It was the same guy, my namesake, who also happened to be the guy in charge of giving out the photographs. He congratulated me and then sent me my picture. And there I was.

Huge.

Pathetic.

I know this might sound like a body image problem, and I know that I have to accept what I am. I also know that being fat had nothing to do with anything. He was popular because he was more outgoing, and friendlier than I was.

But still. That one moment where I took a look at myself. I threw the bag of chips as they were in the dustbin (I never EVER waste food, so that was a big deal). I decided to change my life. And then I started working out every single day for two months till I had gotten slim again. The problem was, I didn’t know what to do once that workout was over. I mean, I had lost weight, what now?

The problem with motivation is that when you start to get closer to your goal, it begins to waiver. Satisfaction is the biggest enemy of progress. If you’re satisfied with what you have, you automatically think you don’t have to work anymore, and you end up going back to where you started. That is why binge eaters are known to starve themselves till they lose weight and then one day go nuts with their bingeing. A consistent level of motivation is a necessity. I have seen this with many people who come to the gym. Unlike me (and some other people) their goals aren’t to get fit. They want to look good because they want chicks, and things like that. They start off with very high levels of motivation, and one of two things happen. They either reach halfway through to their goals and reach a plateau, or they don’t lose weight very quick. In the second scenario, they give up because they’re frustrated, and that’s bad. The former scene, however, is much worse, because they have reached halfway, and just because they get satisfied with their results, they start falling back. Missing workouts, regular bingeing, all the motivation comes crumbling down.

That is why you should always be deconstructing old goals and making new ones. Make small, achievable goals. I understand that if you want to go from 90kgs to 80kgs, that may be a great goal, but the problem is if you don’t achieve it in time your motivation might waver. So break your goal down. Plan to go from 90 to 87, and when you reach 87 push aside that goal and replace it with the one to go from 87 to 84, and so on. When your goals are small and easily achievable, you begin to feel more accomplished as you complete them. That’s when you stay consistent. I know I have to go down to about 15% body fat, but I’m not really going to aim to go from 27% to 15%. I’m planning to go to 24% first.

Stay motivated. Use any means necessary if it doesn’t come from within, and keep working till your results are reason enough for you to wake up the next day and keep your body moving.

Cheers.

2 thoughts on “Progress and Motivation for Weight loss

Leave a Reply

